Google+ Wants You to Fill It With Updates From Other Sites

By Jamie Condliffe on at

Venture Beat is reporting that there's an extra Google+ feature that wasn't announced at yesterday's I/O, which sucks content from other sites for you. Sounds like it might be only way you'll ever post anything to your profile.

Called Google+ History, it's an API that lets you add — retrospectively, if you wish — statuses, pictures, purchases and whatever the hell else information you like to share, direct from other social network accounts like Twitter and Foursquare. The API automatically drags content and dumps it, historically, on your page.

The idea, it seems, is to allow everyone with an empty Google+ page — that'll be most of us, then? — to fill it up with content that has previously been posted online. It's a bit like buying a new house that you don't want to live in, then filling it with all your old junk from your adolescence so it looks used. Used, yes. Only a little hollow and depressing at the same time.

Combined with the upgraded Google+ feature, most notably Events, can it make people take notice of the social networking site? Probably not. [Venture Beat]