Google Photos Collects Pictures After You Delete the Android App

By Jamie Condliffe on at

If you’ve tried Google Photos and didn’t like it, you probably deleted the app. But you may not realise that, if you use Android, it’s potentially still collecting and storing all of your photographs. Here’s how to stop it.

Business writer David A. Arnott noticed this was the case when hundreds of his images appeared on Google Photos even though he’d deleted the app. The software uses the central Google Settings menu to dictate whether photographs are backed up to Google’s cloud; if you don’t change those settings, the uploads will continue to occur.

To stop it from happening, you need to navigate your way to the Google Settings menu, choose Google Photo Backup and then turn it off. That should do the trick. [Nashville Business Journal via Engadget via Verge]