If you’re not already using Google Photos, here's a great reason to start: thanks to a new update, the app now offers a handy “Assistant” that will free up space on your phone with two taps. And you won’t lose the photos either!
The new Assistant feature is available in the settings menu. It’ll prompt you to delete photos and videos that are already backed up on Google servers (where you get free unlimited storage, by the way). The app will also notify you if you’re low on storage and give you the option to delete photos and videos that are more than 30 days old. Again, everything should already be backed up, so you can keep documenting your life without the need to worry about space.
The update is rolling out on Android now and, as usual, the iOS version will be available soon. [Google]