O2's Not Going to Overcharge You When You Go on a European Holiday

By Tom Pritchard on at

O2 has announced that its customers won't be getting shafted if they attempt to use their mobile phones in Europe this summer. So if you pop over to the continent to stock up on cheap wine and cheese, there's one less thing to have to worry about.

This is totally out of the goodness of its own heart, and probably not because the EU says they have to.

From the 15th of June, O2 customers travelling inside O2's 'Europe Zone' will be able to use all their UK allowances without penalty. The whole process is automatic, so Pay Monthly, Pay as You Go, and Pay Business customers will all be able to enjoy any inclusive allowances in 47 European countries and territories.

Those places are *deep breath*:

Austria, Azores, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar (UK), Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Isle of Man, Jersey, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madeira, Malta, Martinique, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion Islands, Romania, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin (French), San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands and Vatican City.

Unfortunately Pay as You Go Customers will only be able to use their allowances in 42 places, because Jersey, Guernsey, Monaco, Switzerland, and the Isle of Man aren't included. Probably because they're not part of the EU.

You might also want to keep an eye on O2's social media pages later today (they didn't specify which ones), because the network is commemorating this occasion by giving away three weekend breaks - complete with flights, accommodation, and £500 to spend on whatever it is you like spending holiday money on.

Image: Jeff Djevdet/Flickr

More Networks Posts: